The Cook House was renamed the Allenel Hotel in 1911. It was located at the corner of Huron and Fourth Avenue, and torn down in 1964.

Angelo Poulos was owner of the Allenel in 1930.


On Christmas morning in 1910, the hotel was badly damaged by a fire that started in the basement. No one was hurt, but some of the guests barely escaped. After two months of remodeling the hotel reopened, boasting the latest in luxuries: telephones in every room and an electric elevator. It was renamed the Allenel—a blend of the words Allen (presumably after Ann Arbor founder John Allen) and hotel.